Supervisor Training

Partnering with Workplace Learning Performance and Organizational Development, the Office of Student Employment encourages all student employee managers to take part in the Manager Certification Program. Managers are required to complete seven classes (all four core classes and any three electives) within the program to achieve certification.

The classes are as followed:

Required Core Classes (All 4 courses): 

  • Hiring Student Employees (SH001A)
  • Managing Student Employees (MS001A)
  • Progressive Discipline - Student Employees (PD001A)
  • Appraising Student Employees (AS001A)

Electives (Select 3 additional courses): 

  • Goal Setting and Maintenance (GO001A)
  • Ongoing Coaching and Feedback (GB001A)
  • Employee Relations (ER001M)
  • Interviewing and Hiring (IH001M)

Upcoming Student Employee Supervisor Training Sessions


Hiring Student Employees

Wednesday, August 16 10am - 12pm LPC Room A&L 112  
Tuesday, October 24 10am - 12pm Loop Room Daley 1001  
Wednesday, January 31 10am - 12pm LPC Room LPSC 324  
Tuesday, March 27 2pm - 4pm Loop Room Daley 1001

Managing Student Employees

Wednesday, August 23 10am - 12pm Loop Room Daley 1001  
Tuesday, November 7 2pm - 4pm LPC Room LPSC 324  
Tuesday, February 13 2pm - 4pm Loop Room Daley 1001  
Wednesday, April 24 10am - 12pm LPC Room LPSC 324  
Tuesday, May 15th 2pm - 4pm LPC Room LPSC 324  

Appraising Student Employees

Tuesday, October 10 10am - 12pm LPC Room LPSC 324  
Tuesday, November 30 2pm - 4pm Loop Room Daley 1001  
Wednesday, February 28 2pm - 4pm LPC Room LPSC 324  
Wednesday, May 2 10am - 12pm Loop Room Daley 1001  

Progressive Discipline - Student Employees

Thursday, October 19 2pm - 4pm Loop Room Daley 1001  
Tuesday, December 5 10am - 12pm LPC Room LPSC 220  
Wednesday, March 7 10am - 12pm Loop Room Daley 1001  
Tuesday, May 8 2pm - 4pm LPC Room LPSC 324  

The program brings managers together to discuss the most effective ways of managing student employees. The classes present an engaging atmosphere that encourages managers to share successes as well as challenges they have encountered when managing student employees. The certification is an important step for managers toward developing real managerial practices that will benefit themselves as well as their student employees.

To enroll in these or any courses, log on to Campus Connect and navigate to the following location: Self Service/Learning and Development/Request Training Enrollment. Once there, you can search for your desired course by its name, date or course number and enroll.

Department Specific Training

As-needed training for departments identified through outreach, compliance issues or specific department needs. To see all available class names and listings, please refer to the DePaul Workplace Learning course catalog.

Human Resources & DePaul University Training

Workplace Learning and Manager Training Resources

To arrange a training session for your area please contact:

Sarah Carbone
Associate Director, Office of Student Employment
scarbone@depaul.edu
(773) 325–7397